Within the state of Florida, there is a zero-tolerance for anyone under the age of 21 who drinks alcohol. Liquor can be sold at specialized stores, and municipalities decide when alcohol can be sold, and drinking in public is not allowed. Driving while under the influence is not tolerated and is considered a serious offense. The penalties can range from having a license suspended, a minimum jail time of six months, which increases with every offense. Anyone who is convicted of an alcohol-related offense is required to take alcohol awareness classes. If your BAC is .15 or higher the penalties for a DUI conviction increase drastically.
The legal drinking age in Florida is 21, and bartending and serving alcohol requires you to be 18 years old, along with working in a liquor store. You must also be 21 years old to purchase alcohol anywhere in the state. The general state law in Florida indicates that no alcohol can be sold, consumed, served, or permitted to be sold or serviced by anyone holding a liquor license between the hours of midnight and 7 am. However, counties and municipalities are allowed to have different rules. For example, Miami-Dade County allows the sale of alcohol any day of the week, 24 hours of the day.
The consumption of alcohol is not permitted on any public property across the state, which can also extend to private property if the owner has not given permission. Alcohol is one of the most widely used substances across the nation. Millions of Americans struggle with alcohol addiction and require treatment for their addiction. However, only a small percentage of Americans get the help they need for their alcohol addiction. Severe alcoholism results in dangerous health complications, some of which result in death. Struggling with alcohol addiction requires an extensive detox program and treatment. Alcohol treatment programs in the state can help an addict overcome their addictions.