The alcohol laws in Nebraska permit adults who are 19 years old and older to serve alcohol on premises for consumption. As well, they can tend bar, and work in stores that sell alcohol. Anyone who is under the age of 21 may drink alcohol in their parent or guardians' home, however, buying alcohol under the age of 21 is illegal. The use of a fake ID to purchase alcohol is a criminal act, and it is illegal for anyone under the age of 21 to have a BAC of .02% and drive. Driving under the influence in Nebraska is with a BAC of .08% or higher, and .04% for commercial vehicles. However, the judge has sole discretions, and the state can charge a driver with a BAC well below the legal limit.
Under Nebraska law, the police are able to arrest someone for suspected DUI and may seize their driver's license. Your first DUI conviction will result in up to 10 days in jail and a fine up to $500, and the state will revoke your driver's license. If you have reached the third offense for driving while impaired, the penalties increase. There is jail time of up to 90 to 180 days in jail, and also a fine of up to $1000 and a license revocation of up to 15 years. Impaired driving is a problem for many states, and some have stiffened laws to help prevent it. Binge drinking will lead to impaired driving, because of the rapid consumption of alcohol.
Between 2003 and 2012 there were 682 people killed in crashes involving drunk driving in Nebraska. The hardest-hit age group within the state were people between the ages of 21 and 34, dying in these crashes. This is a rate of 6.5 persons per 100,000 population, and men made up the largest percentage. Roughly 3.4% of adults in Nebraska report driving after drinking too much. Excessive alcohol abuse will cause impaired driving resulting in the injury or death of the driver and or others.